Rilakkuma Book 2
comment 1

Rilakkuma Books: Rilakkuma Seikatsu Series 1

Many kinds of books about Rilakkuma have been published in Japan, including picture books, comics, and books which tell us how to make Rilakkuma products by yourself. Today I’ll introduce the most popular Rilakkuma books, the Rilakkuma Seikatsu Series! Seikatsu (生活) means life, so the title means Rilakkuma life. The first Rilakkuma Seikatsu book was released in 2004. From 2004 to the present, nine Rilakkuma Seikatsu books have been released.

The Rilakkuma Seikatsu Series shows you Rilakkuma’s life and gives you some hints on how to relax. The contents are all Rilakkuma’s  monologues. Every book has about 60 Rilakkuma monologues. As you know, Rilakkuma is lazy and relaxed, so his monologues are lazy and relaxed like this:


Even if you are in a bind it will not start. (Don’t be in a hurry. Take it easy.)


If you need help, you can say “help me.” (You can depend on someone.)


It’s unnatural to force you to do something. It’s best to be natural.


What you can do today is what you can do tomorrow. (You don’t need to do everything in a day. If you are tired, you can do it another day.)

There is one monologue on the left page, and there is a Rilakkuma illustration that represents the monologue on the right page. The way of reading this book is a little different from other story books. On the first page, the book tells you how to read this book like this:

普通に読んでも十分楽しめますが、 目をつぶって好きなページを開い てみればあなたへのメッセージがありますよ

“You can enjoy this book if you read from first page as normal. But the other way to read this book is closing your eyes and opening to a random page where you can find a message from Rilakkuma.”

When I’m too tired to do anything, I think “I have many things to do! I can’t rest! I can’t waste my time! I know that, but I don’t feel like doing anything. Bad me!” I become depressed. At these times, I need Rilakkuma’s lazy and relaxed monologues.


1 Comment so far

  1. Pingback: Rilakkuma Comic Strip Book 1 – Relaxed Kuma

Leave a Reply